top of page

Summer Musings


A Reclaimed Summer

Is it just me or did summertime seem to last forever when you were a kid? Ah, the good old days...days consisting of salty, sandy beach fun, bare feet, melting ice cream cones, noisy road trips with the family and roasted marshmallows around a bonfire...all summertime staples for me growing up. Probably for you too. Gosh, those carefree, simple days have sometimes seemed so far away from me the past few years. Raising a family is busy -anything but carefree - and certainly not simple. But this summer I aimed to reclaim the sweet and simple feelings of bygone summers for both my family and myself.

As a self-proclaimed perfectionist and chronic over-scheduler, plans are what I thrive on. I love them, I want them and I need them. And while planning and scheduling is super important and plays a major role in running my household, helping me retain my sanity and even a glimmer of a social life, this was the first summer I can recall in my married life when - for the most part - our family didn’t actually make “summer plans”...a big stretch for my personality. But I have to say, it turned out to be one of my best summers yet.

Spontaneity: The Spice of Summer

This Laissez-Faire approach wasn’t fool proof for us but it certainly paved the way for a lot of spontaneity and many neat experiences! This summer, it seemed every few days we were exploring something or somewhere new to us and it was usually right in our own backyard. Day trips became our friend. They were inexpensive and they kept us happily occupied. This spontaneity led us to Minister’s Island, the Sussex Bluff, the Welsford Waterfalls, a high bush blueberry u-pick and South of the border to the best darn “lobstah” roll this Island girl has ever tasted.

Spontaneity also resulted in a twilight dessert night with girlfriends, an Uptown adventure to the Moonlight Bazaar and many beach sunsets and bonfires with some of my nearest and dearest!

The Inn at Whale Cove: The Ghost of Summers Past:

Speaking of girlfriends and bygone summers, if you’ve read any of our previous blog posts then you know very well I couldn’t make it through a summer without a girls’ trip to my homeland, Grand Manan Island. Technically, this was a “summer plan,” but actually more of a tradition, so really I had no choice - they totally twisted my arm anyhow.😉

As usual, we had a fantastic time. Kayaking, biking, afternoon tea, dory excursions and even a beach cat nap all made for a relaxing and fulfilling getaway.

The highlight for me this trip, however, were the accommodations. It was not our first stay at The Inn at Whale Cove Cottages but it was my favourite by far. We chose an Inn room this time vs. a cottage and it proved to be the most unique and nostalgic visit I’ve ever had.

The Inn rooms are all named after long time guests, ours dubbed “Miss Henrietta Quigley’s Room”. It adjoined the main living area which was surrounded by a wonderful book collection, an original fireplace, antique furniture and an old secretary’s desk; the walls were adorned with several photos of previous beloved proprietors and guests. Talk about being immersed in rich history and heritage!

My family have been long time patrons (and occasionally employees) of this great establishment for years, dating back generations. It was, and still is, “the place to go” for any special occasion or if you just want a delicious food experience in a lovely atmosphere. Much of my childhood and teen years were spent in Whale Cove, near the Inn and around its wooded trails; occasionally ducking inside the Inn’s kitchen door to say hello to family that worked in the kitchen. My husband even proposed to me at the Inn as we sat in Adirondacks and watched the water after an amazing gourmet meal. So I guess it’s only natural that I have always felt a special and nostalgic connection to the Inn, having so many memories revolve around it.

(Photo credit: Julia Jones)

The first evening at the Inn, we lit a fire, poured a drink and settled in for a cozy evening of reading and researching the Inn’s captivating history. Thanks to the reading material found in the lobby, some late night sleuthing - and a little wine - we came across some old memorabilia written out to my very own father and grandfather! Even photos of my great grandparents, Bruce and Helen Stanley!

Through the power of written words and old photographs, I felt transported back to an earlier and simpler time. In my mind’s eye, I could see guests from years ago in their evening attire enjoying cocktail hour in front of the same fire we were enjoying; employees working hard in the old-fashioned kitchen and delivering hot water to guests in the early morning; I saw my own descendants doing handy work for the Inn and my grandparents enjoying roast chicken and rice at the Inn’s Sunday dinners of yesteryear. I also pictured a young girl, who one day would grow up to run the Inn, watching her parents work hard to establish a place that is unlike any other. A place that is charming, quaint, peaceful and untouched by the hustle and bustle of modern day hotel glitz, glamour and vinyl.

(Photo credit: Julia Jones) (http://whalecovecottages.ca/)

The Inn at Whale Cove and the feelings it stirred inside me drew me unexpectedly closer to my own heritage and filled me with such peace, tranquility and calm; it felt almost spiritual. It instilled in me a desire to return year after year to keep those feelings in the forefront of my memories and close to my heart.

Although no one can go back in time to reclaim the past, I found that spending time at the Inn, letting go of rigid planning, watching my kids play with their friends in the waves together, having lemonade sales, enjoying bonfires and making blanket forts in the basement definitely brought me as close as one may ever get to bygone days. Witnessing my children make their own summertime memories, I found it easy to conjure up my own memories of summers past and felt fulfilled knowing they were in the process of filling their childhood with pleasant memories and carefree days.

Since Grand Manan is where many of my sweetest summertime memories were made, it only made sense to take my children there as much as possible this summer for a chance to create their own.

It’s so good for the soul to see your kids living out special pieces of your own past and enjoying your old haunts. Picking “sugar pears”, exploring secret trails and beaches, taking dory rides, and enjoying whale sightings together were all experiences unique to Grand Manan and to my childhood - only this time we shared them together.

The best part about reaching to reclaim all these sweet and simple things? Most didn’t cost a dime...but nevertheless became priceless to us all.

- Sarah

...................................................................................................................

Do you ever have the feeling that you are missing out? I tend to have this feeling often in the summer. With the few short months of this season we get I feel I try to make every experience special and cram as much as I can in.

This past summer I promised I was going to live more in the moment and worry less about it being perfect. I was going to take more time for myself and family. I think I did a pretty good job at sticking to my new motto, and even took those extra vacation days and turned them into day trips - which made for a memorable summer.

With all that being said, I have to mention before moving on, that there was something in the back of my mind that I felt a part of me missing this summer, almost like something was out of place, and then I realized it was Sherry. Our dear friend Sherry moved to Ireland almost a year ago. She was always, up for anything, let’s keep the kids busy, and back-up care. The summer was not the same without her and I thought about her often, how much she would enjoy or appreciate what we were doing. She gets me, she feels things as deeply as I feel things and she loves tea! So you can see why her absence would leave a little hole in my heart. We still keep in touch often and have brought back the art of pen pals, writing letters to each other on postcards or quaint stationary.

Back in May, as I normally do, I started planning out the summer. Sarah and I had some ideas we had been working on over the last few months before school ended and I had some ideas for my family as well. Here is a little taste of our East Coast Summer. Easy going, full of taking in the moment, being only as old as you feel, and a season of growth.

SURPRISE! WE ARE GOING TO GRAND MANAN

Sarah and I were working on a surprise trip to Grand Manan the last day of school. The conditions had to be good. We needed it to be sunny weather to enjoy what we had planned for the day and lucky for us it was. My children have never been to Grand Manan and I was excited to share this beloved Island with them.

Calm seas, Swallowtail Lighthouse, the cheesiest Greco Pizza I have ever had, Stanley Beach, ice cream at Newton’s and playing “Mother May I” on our boat ride home. This is what childhood memories are made of.

The timing of our visit to Stanley Beach was magical. Low tide brought out treasures and sea life. Crabs scurrying across the sand, jelly fish and a snail shell with a creature inside the size of my two fists together that resembled a periwinkle shell. I feel complete knowing that my kids get the same joy from the coast as I do.

SECLUDED SUMMER DINNER PARTY

I have an amazing group of girlfriends. They are always so thoughtful. Bringing me flowers or a tea in the middle of the day, hosting delicious dinners, offering to help out with the kids so I can go to an appointment. Their friendship means so much to me. I am so inspired by their thoughtfulness and I aspire to be as thoughtful.

I decided I was going to show my appreciation by hosting a dinner party on my front porch. I transformed the area into a cozy gathering area with some twinkling lights and there we sat the night away eating, talking and sharing.

We feasted on Watermelon and Brie, Cream of Asparagus Soup, a Gnocchi dish with sundried tomatoes and artichokes, and a summer inspired Pavlova…is your mouth watering yet?

This was my time to be thoughtful but they still did not stop giving arriving with flowers and wine. What have I done to be so blessed with this group of girls!?

YOUNG AT HEART - ANNUAL GIRLS TRIP TO GRAND MANAN

I may sound like a broken record but in all 5 trips to Grand Manan over the last few years not one has been the same.

We decided to get a head start on our trip this time and left the night before on the 9pm ferry. It started out a bit rough for me, I was on day one antibiotics for a sinus infection, we drove down in torrential rain from a passing thunderstorm and then I ended up being quite nauseous on the ride over. Great tip here from another boat passenger…feet high, head low!

As our accommodation was not until Saturday Sarah’s dad and his wife were gracious to allow us to spend the night at their home. We got in late (close to 11pm) and I have to say I felt like I was a 16 year old sneaking into the house, being careful not to wake anyone…all of us sharing a room and giggling.

The trip stole another piece of my heart. We kayaked in Whale Cove, had tea in Harrington Cove, rode are bikes all over - and nothing smells more sweet then the smell of summer in Grand Manan.

If you have never visited the Inn at Whale Cove on Grand Manan, you must. Last year we stayed in John’s Flat at the Inn and this year we ended up staying in one of the Inn rooms, which was a much different experience.

The food, AMAZING. It has been over two months I am still dreaming about Laura’s delicious food. With the Inn room you get breakfast each morning and access to the sitting room area. I have to say the night that we spent in the sitting room was one of my favorite moments from the trip. The Inn is filled with immense history and deep roots about the Cottage Girls and the history of the Inn. The notes we found in the antique roll top desk were inspiring. We dug through every nook and cranny, we couldn’t get enough. (Check out our Facebook page and see the video from this very night -https://www.facebook.com/seagalssj/ ).

Like all good things they must come to an end. Calm seas on the way home and memories to last me a lifetime.

REMARKABLE FUNDY TRAIL PARKWAY

I used one of the Friday vacation days and headed to St. Martin’s with my kids and my parents. We have been to St. Martin’s many times but this would be my first on the Fundy Trail Parkway.

Now I did do a little planning for the Parkway. I had a few places mapped out that I thought would fill up the day and we were able to do them all. We did the Flower Pot Trail down to Melvin’s Beach, had lunch at the Sea Captains Burial Ground, headed to the Suspension Bridge and played in the river and ended the day with a stroll along Long Beach.

The kids were troopers and I can’t believe it has taken me this long to visit the Parkway. The beauty you find in your own backyard takes my breath away every time.

PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND HOLDS A PIECE OF MY HEART

I have not been to Prince Edward Island since I was a kid. I don’t really remember much except you had to take a Ferry, Green Gables and Rainbow Valley of course.

Our family vacation this year was destined for North Rustico, Prince Edward Island. We stayed four nights at the North Rustico Harbour Inn, a property purchased by Nathan and Sarah Cutler back in 2016. They were looking for a change of pace in their life and found that on the East Coast. They moved their family of 6 to Prince Edward Island and began operating the Inn (a motel built in 1983). It has been renovated with a charming, beachy chic feel, complete with colorful Muskoka chairs outside each room. Their story is inspiring. You can find out more on their property by visiting - www.northrusticoharbourinn.com

My husband and I are avid antique collectors and our trip was a mix of family fun but also enjoying the things we like to do as well. I made sure the kids understood that this vacation was for mom and dad too and not just all about them. We got to explore a good chunk of the Island, the wharf in Charlottetown, Drive-In at Brackley Beach, and a picnic in Summerside.

Our day trip to St. Peter’s Bay was one of the highlights of the trip for me. We packed a picnic lunch and headed for our first stop at The Phoenix: Antiques and Oddities, which was followed by a trip to Greenwich National Park. We made it to the beach and were hoping to make it to the dunes but the humidity was quite high that day and was not sure the hour walk would be enjoyable.

Before our trip was over we were already planning next year's vacation. It was the first time I really saw my husband unwind and he really settled well into "Island Life".

BACKYARD BEAUTY - BAYSHORE BEACH

Have you ever been to Bayshore Beach (lower west)? Some say that it is Saint John’s best kept secret. The view is remarkable. You can watch the Fundy Rose make its daily crossings, or kayak adventurers paddle out to Partridge Island. At low tide you could walk all the way to McLaren Beach and as the water comes back in over the sand you forget that you are on the Bay of Fundy as the warmth of the water is inviting.

I spent time this summer with my kids and friends here but I even got to enjoy a day to myself. I listened to the rhythm of the tide, and roamed the beach. We ended our summer at Bayshore with a bonfire, watching the sunset and roasting marshmallows. We started the summer together and we ended the summer together.

Looking back it was really about the small things this summer. About last minute plans, walking barefoot outside and picking bowls full of blackberries, writing letters to Ireland, beach bonfires, pool days, picnics and sitting in a 100 + year old living area reading about the past.

As this season ends and September is now upon us there is a freshness in the air, a feeling of new beginnings and you are ready to move on to the next season. Isn't it funny how we worry about the transition but in the end we fall right into sync. How lucky are we to live in a place that we get to experience all that "Mother Nature" has to give us; changing of the leaves, golden and crimson, first snow fall, bough branches reaching to the ground heavy with snow, the first sprouts of re-birth that will bloom into such richness that you can't believe something that looked beyond recovery has reached such glory. I can't say I enjoy one over of the other but appreciate each for what it is. What experiences will autumn hold?

- Jennifer

bottom of page